Last updated: May 03, 2021
Allowable Resources in the Dominion League
These resources may be consulted at any time, including during a League game.
The current rulebooks for each Dominion set are linked below. See below for some changes that were made but not yet incorporated into the official rulebooks.
- Dominion (2nd Edition)
- Dominion: Intrigue (2nd Edition)
- Dominion: Seaside
- Dominion: Alchemy
- Dominion: Prosperity
- Dominion: Hinterlands
- Dominion: Dark Ages
- Dominion: Guilds & Cornucopia
- Dominion: Adventures
- Dominion: Empires
- Dominion: Nocturne
- Dominion: Renaissance
- Dominion: Menagerie
There is no official rulebook for the promo cards (Envoy, Black Market, Stash, Walled Village, Governor, Prince, Summon, Sauna/Avanto, Dismantle, Church, and Captain).
These errata are not included in the rulebooks linked above, but are official rules and are used in Dominion Online.
The abilities of these cards have changed since the rulebooks were last printed. Cards with the same abilities but new wordings (such as due to the “Gaining non-Supply cards” rule below) are not listed here.
- Band of Misfits: Action - Command, $5 (Dominion: Dark Ages)
Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply that costs less than this, leaving it there.
- Captain: Action - Duration - Command, $6 (promo card)
Now and at the start of your next turn: Play a non-Duration non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $4, leaving it there.
- Death Cart: Action - Looter, $4 (Dominion: Dark Ages)
You may trash this or an Action card from your hand, for +$5.
When you gain this, gain 2 Ruins.
- Embargo: Action, $2 (Dominion: Seaside)
Trash this. If you did, add an Embargo token to a Supply pile. (For the rest of the game, when a player buys a card from that pile, they gain a Curse.)
- Inheritance: Event, $7 (Dominion: Adventures)
Once per game: Set aside a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $4. Move your Estate token to it. (During your turns, Estates are also Actions with “Play the card with your Estate token, leaving it there.”)
- Lantern: Artifact (Dominion: Renaissance)
Border Guards you play reveal 3 cards and discard 2. (It takes all 3 being Actions to take the Horn.)
- Oracle: Action - Attack, $3 (Dominion: Hinterlands)
Each player (including you) reveals the top 2 cards of their deck, and discards them or puts them back, your choice. They choose the order to return them. Afterwards, +2 Cards.
- Overlord: Action - Command, 8 Debt (Dominion: Empires)
Play a non-Command Action card from the Supply costing up to $5, leaving it there.
- Pillage: Action - Attack, $5 (Dominion: Dark Ages)
Trash this. If you did, gain 2 Spoils, and each other player with 5 or more cards in hand reveals their hand and discards a card that you choose.
- Procession: Action, $4 (Dominion: Dark Ages)
You may play a non-Duration Action card from your hand twice. Trash it. Gain an Action card costing exactly $1 more than it.
- Trader: Action, $4 (Dominion: Hinterlands)
Trash a card from your hand. Gain a Silver per $1 it costs.
When you gain a card, you may reveal this from your hand, to exchange the card for a Silver.
- Village Green: Action - Duration - Reaction, $4 (Dominion: Menagerie)
Either now or at the start of your next turn, +1 Card and +2 Actions.
When you discard this other than during Clean-up, you may reveal it to play it.
Additionally, two cards intentionally works differently online than what the card text says:
- Black Market: The Black Market deck is made up of exactly 60 unused Kingdom cards that do not have any setup. When you play Black Market, the un-bought cards are put back in a random order, and the Black Market deck is shuffled once all the cards from it have been revealed once.
- Way of the Mouse: Way of the Mouse will not set aside cards with setup or cards that when played via Way of the Mouse would be as useful or less useful than other Ways.
Some cards, like the new Band of Misfits, can play a card that isn’t put into play. When you play Band of Misfits, leave it in play as long as you would have left the card it plays in play. Normally that will be the same turn’s Clean-up. For a Band of Misfits playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the last turn the Duration card has any effects. For a Band of Misfits playing a Throne Room playing a Duration card, it will be the Clean-up of the turn the Duration card leaves play. For a Band of Misfits playing a card that can move itself from play, like Mining Village, the Mining Village can’t move itself, so Band of Misfits doesn’t leave play any earlier than normal. If a Band of Misfits plays multiple Duration cards (e.g., you used Throne Room on it), leave it out until the Clean-up of the last turn that one of them still had effects.
These rules apply to all of the cards that play cards without putting them into play: Band of Misfits, Captain, Inheritance, Necromancer, Overlord, and Way of the Mouse.
Note: This replaces the Lose-Track rule (which was introduced in the Dominion: Dark Ages rulebook), and is largely the same as it.
An effect can move a card if it specifies where the card is coming from, or if the effect put the card where it is now. If a card isn’t where the effect would expect it to be, or has moved away from there and then back, it can’t move the card. Played cards expect to be in play; they can’t move themselves if they aren’t. Gained cards are expected to be where they were gained to, even if this isn’t the discard pile. Cards in discard piles can be moved even if covered up by other cards; cards on top of a deck can’t be moved once covered up.
Additionally, when you are told to get a card from your discard pile and that card is not the top card of your discard pile, you can look through your discard pile to get the card. You don’t have to just look at the top couple of cards, you can look through the whole discard pile.
Gaining non-Supply cards
When a card tells you to gain a non-Supply card by name, you can gain it from its pile, even though it’s not in the Supply.
For example, Marauder can gain Spoils because Marauder uses the words “gain a Spoils”, but Changeling cannot gain an Imp because Changeling does not use the word “Imp” and instead says “gain a copy”.
The cost in $ of a card can’t go below $0. The cost in Potion of a card can’t go below 0 Potion. The cost in Debt of a card can’t go below 0 Debt.
Kingdom Treasure cards
New printings of Treasure cards that do special things when played will no longer say “when you play this”, and will give +$ instead of saying they are “worth” an amount of $.
“While this is in play” abilities
New printings of cards with “while this is in play” abilities that only affect the card’s player (such as Hoard’s) now say “while you have this in play”. Abilities that affect all players (such as Highway’s) are unchanged.
These errata are included in the rulebooks linked above, but may be useful if you are only familiar with older copies of the rulebooks and cards.
Cards which have new wordings but function identically in all situations are not listed here.
- Adventurer, Chancellor, Feast, Spy, Thief, and Woodcutter were removed. Artisan, Bandit, Harbinger, Merchant, Poacher, Sentry, and Vassal were added.
- Cellar: You draw cards instead of getting +Cards.
- Mine: Trashing a Treasure from your hand is optional.
- Moneylender: Trashing a Copper from your hand is optional.
- Throne Room: Playing a card from your hand twice is optional.
- Coppersmith, Great Hall, Saboteur, Secret Chamber, Scout, and Tribute were removed. Courtier, Diplomat, Lurker, Mill, Patrol, Replace, and Secret Passage were added.
- Masquerade: Players with no cards in hand do not participate in passing cards.
- Embargo: You gain Curses one at a time.
- Outpost: The conditions for getting an extra turn are now that it’s the first time you played an Outpost that turn and that the previous turn wasn’t yours.
- Possession: Any Debt tokens (and no other kinds of tokens) that the player to your left would take during their extra turn you take instead.
- Trade Route: You trash a card from your hand before you get +$1 per token on the Trade Route mat.
- Oracle: You get +2 Cards instead of drawing 2 cards.
- Scheme: You can only choose cards that will be discarded from play this turn to put onto your deck.
- Storyteller: You draw cards instead of getting +Cards.
- Black Market: It is clarified that you can play any number of Treasures from your hand before buying a card from the Black Market deck.
- Envoy: It is clarified that you put the cards into your hand instead of drawing them.
Playing Durations multiple times
If a card such as Throne Room plays a Duration card multiple times, that card also stays in play until the player discards the Duration card. If a card such as Throne Room plays a non-Duration card multiple times — even if the card it plays then plays a Duration card — it is always discarded from play the turn it is played.
If you have to do anything with your deck — for example draw, look at, reveal, set aside, discard,or trash cards — and you need more cards than are left in your deck, first shuffle your discard pile and put it under your deck, then do the thing. If there are still not enough cards, you do the thing with however many cards you can. If when shuffling there are no cards in your deck, the shuffled discard pile simply becomes your new deck.
Dominion Online bugs
Below is a list of cards and situations where the game rules aren’t followed. This list does not include confusing or incorrect interface issues, or problems with the Lord Rattington AI.
- Basilica, Colonnade: When buying a card, you cannot choose to resolve other “when you buy” abilities before Basilica or Colonnade.
- Black Cat: If you play Black Cat when it is not your turn, players gain Curses starting with the player to your left, instead of the current player.
- Black Market, Storyteller: When you play Black Market or Storyteller during your Buy phase, you are not able to remove Coffers tokens from your mat.
- Capitalism + Herbalist: When you discard Herbalist from play, it can put itself onto your deck.
- Cargo Ship: You cannot choose which copy of Cargo Ship (or card that played a Cargo Ship, leaving it there) to set aside a gained card on. This can matter with Throne Room, Way of the Mouse setting aside Cargo Ship, etc.
- Cavalry, Villa: If you change phases while resolving a card or gaining multiple cards at once (such as via overpaying for Stonemason), you do not return to your Action phase until you have finished resolving the card or gaining all the cards.
- Clean-up: If you set up an ability during another player’s turn that happens at the start of Clean-up, it will resolve at the start of your next Clean-up, instead of the current player’s Clean-up. This includes abilities from cards (such as playing Improve during another player’s turn) and Boons (such as receiving the Field’s Gift during another player’s turn).
- Coin of the Realm: See Snowy Village below.
- Colonnade: See Basilica above.
- Crown + Scepter: If you use Crown on a Scepter and choose to replay that Crown, the game freezes.
- Defiled Shrine: When gaining a card (except Temple), you cannot choose to resolve other “when you gain” abilities before moving 1 VP from its pile to Defiled Shrine.
- Ducat + Debt: If it’s your Buy phase and you haven’t bought anything and you have more Debt that you can pay off, then when you pay off any amount of it, all the Ducats in your hand will be played.
- Encampment: See Clean-up above.
- The Field’s Gift: See Clean-up above.
- The Forest’s Gift: See Clean-up above.
- Fleet: Fleet turns in multiplayer games can happen in the wrong order.
- Fleet + Star Chart: When you shuffle your deck during your Clean-up phase, if the next turn is a Fleet turn, you don’t get to use Star Chart.
- Governor: When you play a Governor and choose the third option, you are forced to trash a card.
- Hamlet: If you discard a card for +1 Action and then have no cards in hand, you can choose to discard for +1 Buy, discard nothing, and still get +1 Buy.
- Herbalist: See Capitalism above.
- The Horn: The client chooses for you which Border Guard to put onto your deck. For example, it might choose a Border Guard you set aside with Prince.
- Improve: See Clean-up above.
- Inn: When you gain an Inn from the trash, you can only choose differently named cards to shuffle into your deck.
- Invest + Transport: When putting a card onto your deck with Transport, you cannot differentiate an Invested copy of an Exiled card and a non-Invested copy.
- Inn: When you gain an Inn while controlling another player with Possession, you cannot choose any Actions to shuffle in.
- Transport: When you control another player with Possession and have them buy Transport, you cannot have them put a card they have in Exile onto their deck.
- Mastermind: You cannot choose the order to resolve multiple Masterminds at the start of your turn. This can matter when other cards have stayed out with Mastermind for tracking.
- Merchant: If you play a Silver, and that somehow triggers you to play a Merchant, you incorrectly get a retroactive +$1 from the Merchant.
- Oracle + Way of the Chameleon: When you play Oracle using Way of the Chameleon and look at the top 2 cards of your deck, if you put them back, you do not get to choose their order.
- Prince + Traveller: When you discard a Princed Traveller from play, you cannot exchange it before it is set aside again by Prince.
- If you trash a card, and that somehow triggers you to play a Priest, you incorrectly get a retroactive +$2 from the Priest’s “for the rest of this turn” ability (in addition to its normal +$2).
- Way of the Chameleon: If you play multiple Priests in a turn, some using Way of the Chameleon and some not, then when you trash a card, you will either get all +Cards or all +$ (depending on how you played the first Priest).
- Quarry + Wayfarer: When the last card gained is not an Action and you have a Quarry in play, Wayfarer displays the correct price but can be bought as if it cost $2 less.
- The River’s Gift: See Clean-up above.
- Various cards: Sometimes, when a card plays another card, you cannot call a Royal Carriage on the first card. This bug is uncommon and the circumstances that cause it are unknown.
- Various cards/landscapes: If you play a card multiple times and it doesn’t leave play at least one of those times, but then does leave play a later time, you may be able to call a Royal Carriage to replay it.
- Snowy Village: See Snowy Village below.
- Scepter: See Crown above.
- Scheme: You cannot choose which copy of a card to put onto your deck when the client stacks them in your play area. For example, it might choose a copy of Treasure Hunter from a stack of Treasure Hunters that you wanted to exchange for a Warrior.
- Small Castle: When you play Small Castle and have no other Castles in hand, you are forced to trash the Small Castle from play.
- Sleigh: You can react with Sleighs even if they have left your hand and moved back. For example, if you have a Sleigh in hand and gain a Sleigh, you can react with them both in an infinite loop.
- Snowy Village: If you played a Snowy Village this turn, have a Coin of the Realm or a Royal Carriage on your Tavern mat, have Villagers, and have 0 Actions remaining, you may play an Action card from your hand, automatically using a Villager to do so. Note you cannot spend the Villagers manually for +Actions, and in all cases you correctly do not actually get +Actions from spending any.
- Star Chart: See Fleet above.
- Stonemason: You cannot choose to overpay an amount that would not gain you cards.
- Storyteller: See Black Market above.
- Trader: When you gain a card that is not from a pile, the game will freeze if you react with Trader.
- Invest: See Invest above.
- Possession: See Possession above.
- Treasure Map: The two Treasure Maps are not trashed simultaneously. For example, if you play a Treasure Map and trash it, you can resolve “when you trash” abilities before trashing another Treasure Map from your hand.
- Villa: See Cavalry above.
- Villagers: During your Action phase, if the only thing you can do is spend Villagers, you are not given a chance to spend them and instead your Buy phase automatically beings.
- Way of the Chameleon:
- See Oracle above.
- See Priest above.
- Way of the Frog: If you play a card using Way of the Frog when it isn’t your turn, when it is discarded from play, it is not put onto your deck.
- Way of the Mouse + Durations: If Way of the Mouse sets aside a Duration card, then when you play a Duration card (other than Captain or Mastermind) using Way of the Mouse it is discarded from play the same turn.
- Wayfarer: See Quarry above.
- Zombie Spy: If you play Herald to reveal and play Necromancer, and then have no cards in your deck or discard pile, the game will freeze if you play Zombie Spy via the Necromancer.
If you encounter a bug not listed here, please confirm it is indeed a bug in the #rules-help channel of the Dominion (by Donald X Vaccarino) Discord server, and then tag a League moderator.